battling the urge to run

Spiritual warfare is hard.  I don’t know if I have ever realized before just how hard it is.  Or it might be that I just didn’t realize I was even in war at the time.

In this battle, Sr. Helena’s daily reflections on suffering this last week have really struck a cord with me.  Another one that struck me said:

Suffering is unavoidable.  You don’t want to run from My cross.  If you run from My cross, you may find yourself staring at a pitchfork!  I only permit you to suffer here.  Satan wants you to suffer hereafter.

Being a visual person, I can’t get that image out of my mind.  Me, being faced with the struggles in my life, blindly turning to run away from them, and finding myself staring down the tines of a pitchfork.  Yikes!

Then, in the ‘Words of Wisdom’ section, she shares this gem:

The first step to facing unavoidable suffering is suffering with acceptance.  The second step is suffering with love.  Eventually, love takes over.

So, when the urge strikes me to just run and get away from the struggles and pain, the pitchfork comes to mind.  Once the pitchfork comes to mind, it is pretty clear as to what my path needs to be.  The path smoothed with acceptance and eventually paved with love.  That is the only way to move forward toward Him and heaven.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

