Is there an answer?

I LOVE organizational sites, magazines, pictures, designs — you name it!  I keep looking around me at the partially organized, mostly disorganized mess around me and HATE it.  I hate disorganization and really want everything around me neat and orderly.  I do believe the old adage that everything should have a place and be in that place when not in use at the moment.  And yet, I haven’t seemed to find “THE” organizational trick yet that helps me get to that point.

“Lord, set my life in order; making me to know what I ought to do and do it the way that I should.”  St. Thomas Aquinas

I read everything I see on the subject of organization.  I have attended hundreds of hours of talks about time management and organization.  I actually use many of the ideas and techniques I have learned.  But, it still isn’t enough.

I think my biggest problem is that I have big ideas but little time.  I tend to start projects and then time runs away from me!  So, the partially completed project sits there and the “organized” part ends up buried under the continual chaos of life happening all around me.  Then, one day I have that magic, elusive item again … time … and so I start all over again.  If I am lucky, I can get it back to the point I left off earlier.  Most of the time though, I never even make it that far.  So, it is 2 steps forward and 3 steps back.

Talking to older friends whose kids have all flown the coop, I hear that it won’t always be like this.  I hear that ‘one day’ I will have all of the time I ever wanted plus more.  I also hear that I won’t be any more productive because things will still be coming up and preventing any type of productivity from happening.

I seem to live in a paradox.  I truly want to be surrounded by organization.  I am more peaceful and calm when life is organized.  And yet, I want to LIVE my life and be present in each moment which means that with 5 kids, 4 of which are still at home, life is a whirlwind of schoolwork, food preparation, and carpools.  And then there is the work that has to find its own slivers of time.  Grading papers, figuring report cards, submitting schoolwork to our distance learning school, doing payroll, preparing the tax documents needing filed, the vendor contacts, the scheduling, employee hiring/training, the inventory, working with the accountant/lawyer/insurance agent, the purchasing, the …………   *sigh*  and it just goes on and on.

Is there an answer to all of this?  And miracle of miracles — one that doesn’t cost money we don’t have?  I think I am finally realizing that the organizational seminars I hear about, aren’t the answer.  No one method will help.  I know what I want.  I know how to get it.  But, I’m not willing to give up the time to do it.  I’m not willing to give up the time with my husband and my kids.  My family is everything to me and SO much more important than piles of papers waiting to be sorted and filed in my humble opinion.  But, one day soon, the kids will be gone.  Then, the piles can have me if I don’t get buried alive before then.

So, until that day, I guess my organizational motto will be:

 “Let’s all make friends with and HUG our piles today!”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

