Advent is coming…

Today is November 30th, the feast of St. Andrew.  One of the traditions for the feast of St. Andrew is to say the following novena prayer 15 times daily until Christmas Eve.

Hail and blessed be the hour and moment at which the Son of God was born of a most pure Virgin at a stable at midnight in Bethlehem in the piercing cold.  In that hour, I beseech Thee, to hear my prayers and grant my desires.  (mention intentions here)  Through the merits of Our Savior Jesus Christ and of His Blessed Mother.  Amen.

Besides praying this prayer each day, I also intend to post on the blog daily through Advent.  My intent is to be mindful daily that Advent is about asking for the grace to see Jesus coming in the here and now.  I always saw it as almost a desert time (similar to Lent) where we were preparing ourselves for Jesus’ birth on Christmas day and we needed to repent and prepare ourselves.  While I was on retreat a few weeks ago, our retreat director challenged us to look at Advent differently.  The reality is that Jesus was already born.  He lived on the earth, died and was resurrected from the dead.  But, through the Holy Spirit, He is still with us every day and in every situation we find ourselves, good and bad.  So, my goal throughout Advent is to reflect on His presence in my life more directly than usual and in doing that, I will be going through my prayer journal and noting the things this year I have read or heard that were ‘light bulb’ moments and helped me to see Him in a way I hadn’t before.  Some of them will be analogies, some will be reflections.  All will hopefully lead myself and others (who might be reading this blog) to reflect a bit more on Christ’s presence in the here and now.  Till Sunday and the first day of Advent….

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Advent is coming…

  1. Beautiful reflection! This reminds me of times that I see an older lady and think about my mom. Sometimes it makes me sad, sometimes it makes me happy. Today it was a couple at the library.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

