Dreams

I was reading an inspirational “daily” that I get in my email each morning and it was talking about dreams.  Not dreams that you get while you sleep, but dreams that you have for your future.  It started me thinking…… Do I even still have dreams?

My immediate answer was Yes!  Of course I do!  I dream of someday actually completing the projects that I have going.  ALL of them!  I dream of the day when I will have an organized, clean and peaceful house where everything has a place and everything can be found in its place when needed.  I dream of the day when all of my children will behave and act like they have been taught and when they will all become successful, productive adults but most of all will be strong in their faith in God.  I dream of the day when I can do all the things I want to do now but just don’t have the time to do.

But, are these really the dreams that matter?

Vanity of vanities, says Qoheleth, vanity of vanities! All things are vanity!
What profit has man from all the labor which he toils at under the sun?
One generation passes and another comes, but the world forever stays.    Ecclesiastes 1:2-4

All of these “dreams” are vain.  They ARE vanity of vanities!  They are totally caught up in what “I” want, what would make my life here on earth much more pleasant and not focused on what God wants.  When I look at all of the arguments and political statements we are being bombarded with these days prior to the election, I can’t help but think “‘vanity of vanities’ that is all we are surrounded with!”  In fact, Ecclesiastes has something to say about that too.

The perverse are unwilling to be corrected, and the number of the foolish is boundless.  Ecclesiastes 1:15

Vanity is such a serious sin in our world today.  It is so overwhelmingly present that we are all numb to it — especially if it concerns ourselves.  It is easy to see others’ vanities, but our own we explain away with so many excuses that we think that “if only” others understood, they would understand why I am the way I am. But, as I tell my own kids regularly, excuses don’t change the reality. Period.

I do believe it is good to have dreams.  I also believe that in our dreams especially, we need to examine them carefully to make sure that our dreams aren’t following the path of the world around us and taking us to vanity.  Our dreams should lead us to the good, the noble, and the pure happiness that is available to us through God alone.   Hmmm, I think I have my November retreat’s reflection…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

