new schedules, new challenges

This school year has started off and amazingly, we are already 4 weeks into our year.  It is hard to realize that next week is OCTOBER!  Wow, time really flies especially when life is insanely busy.  That seems to be my challenge this year…. balance!  See, if I have our school year caught up, work graded, and everyone pretty well on track, then the house and the business work falls behind.  If I am caught up with the business work, then the house and school is behind.  I just haven’t figured out how to keep it all within a workable balance.

Today’s first reading is from Proverbs 21, verses 1-6 and 10-13.  The verse that seemed to “grow” in my gaze was verse 5.  It says…

 The hardworking is thoughtful, and all is gain; too much haste, and all that comes of it is want.

What this passage says to me is that when I am thoughtful and plan my days, living calmly and structured, all is good.  But, when I hurry through everything trying to get everything done, then I am left with want or an emptiness.  Hmmm, this is so true!  And yet, I haven’t yet figured out HOW to be more of the thoughtful hard worker.  It seems all I have time to be is a hurrying, rushing worker who is exhausted at the end of her days.  I KNOW that this isn’t the way God wants me to live my life, but I wish someone from Bible times could have written specifically to me about how to be a Proverbs 31 woman in 2012.  I think the difference is that in the times when Proverbs was written, no woman ‘did’ do it all alone.  She had her mother, aunts, sisters, and lots of other extended family and neighbors helping her.  She also wasn’t trying to ‘help’ her husband with the business too, but just trying to be a support to him by having his laundry done, meals made and clothes made.

The reality is that I am living the hand that I have been dealt.  We aren’t in a position business-wise where we can hand over what I do to someone else (who we would have to pay) and honestly, we’re not sure we even want to do that as that brings risks and challenges all its own.   We are still strongly convicted that God is wanting us to continue to homeschool our children and I know without a doubt, that our household runs smoother and more organized if “I” am the leader of the household operations.  So, the challenge that faces me is to determine how God can part the waters of my overbooked calendar and allow this all to pass through on dry ground.  I know _I_ can NOT do it.  But, all things are possible with God.  So, that seems to be the key… to ALWAYS walk WITH God….  just as closely as I can!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “new schedules, new challenges

  1. Marcy K.

    ” I haven’t yet figured out HOW to be more of the thoughtful hard worker. It seems all I have time to be is a hurrying, rushing worker who is exhausted at the end of her days. I KNOW that this isn’t the way God wants me to live my life, but I wish someone from Bible times could have written specifically to me about how to be a Proverbs 31 woman in 2012″

    I feel the exact same way. It seems like I never get anything done. I try to come up with grand ideas like making a schedule to stick to, or setting up prayer time specifically, or whatever I can throw together at the moment but I never seem to get it all together because circumstances keep changing. I just finished reading a book by Teresa Tomeo of EWTN, called Wrapped Up: God’s Ten Gifts for Women and the other author Cheryl Dickow uses Old Testament women to teach us about today. One thing she said was that we try to tell God how things should be and we don’t let God be God. I think what I took from that was that our lives are crazy, and things are constantly changing, but we need to take one thing at a time. We need to take stuff as it comes, stop and say to the Lord, “OK Lord, what would you have me do here?” “How should I act?” Of course we should plan to make things go smoother, but we need to stop expecting things a certain way. You are right that we should always walk WITH God, which is easy to say. But if we do that we will be much happier. It is a pretty good book. http://www.teresatomeo.com/Books-And-Media/

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

