to rest or not to rest?

It is Sunday, and a day of rest.  But, what exactly does that mean or should it mean?

I have friends who follow this rule strictly.  They go to Church in the morning, go home and eat, take a nap and then, get up and go back to church in the evening.

I have other friends who have no qualms about working on Sunday, doing their yard work, housework, and even outside work.  It isn’t seen as anything different from any other day.

I have wavered between the two, mostly confused as to what we are really being called to do, or not to do, to keep this commandment.  Most of my Sundays have been mixes of both.  I try to rest as much as possible (usually taking a nap sometime in the afternoon), but I also do some light work.  Laundry is something that seems to ALWAYS need done in this household of 6/7.  So, I usually switch around a load or two if needed although I avoid it if possible.  I also tend to spend more time playing games with the family, on email and Facebook, catching up with friends and family.  And, I usually end up doing some calendaring or lesson planning on Sunday.

For a long time, I felt very guilty for doing anything besides nap, games, and catching up with family and friends.  But, now I don’t.  When I do my calendaring and lesson planning on Sunday, I find I am much more open to God and His plan for our week.  I tend to be a lot less stressed by a crazy chaotic week when I plan it out on Sunday and somehow, it always seems to come together after I have spent time turning my heart and mind towards God.  My hope is that it also helps me start the week then on Monday in a much better frame of mind, ready to go forward and to follow today’s second reading from James, Chapters 1 and 2.  I hope to ….

“Be doers of the word and not hearers only”

If nothing else, the Gospel of Mark, Chapter 7 helps guide me further, saying,

“Nothing that enters one from outside can defile that person; but the things that come out from within are what defile.”

So, after receiving God’s word and Christ’s body and blood on Sunday morning, that is when I am the strongest.  So, then keeping my focus towards Him when planning for my family and for our homeschool, I hope that what comes out is much more focused on His plan and not my own.  It also helps me to guide our family and school into being “doers of the word”.

At least that is my prayer and my hope…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

