that elusive sense of happiness….

Oh, how well I know that happiness is not found in the things around us. It is found in the secrecy of the soul.

St. Therese, The Little Flower

When I saw this quote this morning in my email, I had to stop and reflect.  I am no different from everyone else.  As much as I know that my time here on earth is not meant to be all happiness, candy and flowers, I can’t help but wish it wasn’t true.  So, when I saw this quote today from St. Therese, one of my favorite saints, I stopped in my tracks.  Am I just going through life mostly accepting that happiness is too elusive to grasp this side of heaven?  Many times, I think I am.  This is usually when I am feeling sorry for myself because I don’t “feel” happy.

But, are these thoughts valid in the light of St. Therese’s quote?  The first part of her quote is SO true and easily understood.  As I read it, I felt my inner self nodding her head sagely saying — so true, so true!  But, as I read the second half, I had to stop and realize that my initial thoughts that true happiness isn’t to be found until I reach my goal of heaven wasn’t accurate either!  I’ve always known that God doesn’t ‘intend’ for us to be miserable in this life.  But, so many prayers and hymns speak of this ‘valley of tears’ and of how the trials of this life are a cleansing for our future with God.  So, when I read that it can be found here and now within my own soul??  Wow!  Stunning!

Scary though too!  I think that I know myself pretty well.  But, plumbing the depths of my own soul, is frightening to say the least.  I know I have good within me.  God made me good.  But, I also know that I have dark within me.  And it is that darkness that scares me.

Happiness equals light.  So, the concept that there is light, happiness, within that darkness is intriguing!  And also feels so hopeful!  🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

