Serenity in life?? Is it possible?

Wow!  It is amazing to see how much time has flown by since I lasted posted.  It isn’t that I haven’t been doing my daily prayer and reading, but is more a function of deciding that I would rather relax in the evening and my computer is downstairs while the family is upstairs.  So…. time slips away!

I had the opportunity today to pray in front of the Blessed Sacrament for two hours.  This was especially nice because I was just on retreat last weekend and have felt rushed/overwhelmed since I came back.  Re-entry into life is sometimes the hardest part of going on retreat for me!

The theme for the retreat was The Serenity Prayer by Reinhold Niebuhr.  Most people know the prayer by its first lines.  But, there is a whole lot more with a lot more power in the rest of the prayer.  If you haven’t heard the whole thing before, here it is…

God,

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can

And the wisdom to know the difference,

Living one day at a time,

Enjoying each moment at a time,

Accepting hardships and pain as the pathway to peace,

Taking as He did this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it,

Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His will,

That I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with

Him forever.

During the conference, there were 10 conferences/presentations.  Each of the conferences focused on just one of these lines.  For example, the first line — “God” — the conference focused on who do we say God is for us?  Is He the picture of the old man with the gray hair and beard surrounded by cherubim that is so often pictured in art?  Just who is God?

The line that stands out to me today is the 9th line of the prayer (Trusting that He will make …..).  In today’s Gospel reading from Mark 11, Jesus told us point-blank…

“Jesus said to them in reply, “Have faith in God.
Amen, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain,
‘Be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’
and does not doubt in his heart
but believes that what he says will happen,
it shall be done for him.”

Isn’t this what this line of the prayer is saying?  Trust Him!  Probably one of the hardest things to do in life, but the most important!  I’m working on it God…

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

