*yawn*

It’s been a long few weeks!  Between the normal busy-ness of life as well as being sick, I feel as if I haven’t stopped in ages as I try to catch up!  I’m especially thankful that I have had several occasions where I have been reminded that whether I am ready or not, Lent starts right around the corner.  So, with that in mind along with all of the crazy busy-ness, I plan to, for Lent, re-energize myself and this blog by upping my “goal” of one post per week to 3 posts per week minimum.  That is going to take a bit of an adjustment for me as I tend to wait until around 10 pm to do this reflection (as I am doing at this minute instead of going to bed — hence the title which is what I am doing as I type).  Instead, I am hoping to switch up my schedule a bit and work on doing this at lunch time.  Hopefully, that will jump start and energize these reflections.

As far as today’s scripture, I can’t help but think I have been blind for years!  Today’s Gospel reading is one that is very familiar to me about the friends who cared so much that they cut a hole in the roof and lowered their friend down so that he could be cured by Jesus.  Now, I can honestly say that I don’t remember ever hearing mentioned or discussed this line which hit me today.  “When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “Child, your sins are forgiven.””

The part that is screaming out at me today is the word “their”.  Usually, Jesus says that one’s faith is what cures you.  But, not here!  In fact, in this passage it is the friend’s faith that is what brings healing.  This is important to me because I know of two women who have lost babies at birth in the last few days.  They are hurting and whatever I can do to help them lighten that load of hurt, I will do.  This passage brings me comfort knowing that even as helpless as I feel in the midst of their intense suffering, I can still help through my prayer and petitions.  This passage can also help me when I try to explain to friends who aren’t Catholic why we in the Catholic religion pray not only to the Saints, but also why we as Catholics have Masses said for loved ones.  What these friends are doing in today’s Gospel is no different than any of these practices.  Others can bring healing to us.  We can bring healing to others.  Don’t we have an awesome God who allows all of this?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

