assurances?

Today’s Gospel reading is from John, Chapter 1, verses 43-51.  The line in there that strikes me today is the very last one:

I solemnly assure you, you shall see the sky opened and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man.” —John 1:51

There are days (okay, maybe even sometimes strings of days) where I wonder whether all of the trials that are facing me are really worth it.  I’m sure many of you have experienced this feeling too.  You know … the “bad” days.  The days where you wish you could just turn around, go back to bed and get up with a fresh start because nothing is going right.

This line from John popped out because not only is John “assuring” us, but he is SOLEMNLY assuring us that by ‘keepin on, keepin on’, there is hope that something better is coming.  Can’t you just picture it?  Seeing the sky opening and the angels of God coming and going?  Wow!  Wouldn’t it be awesome?  Maybe part of my reaction to this line comes from my own fascination with angels.  I collect statues of them.  I read about them.  I especially love to read the stories from The Catholic Treasure Chest series to my girls, particularly the stories of Wupsy, the guardian angel, and his boy, Sunny.  Knowing that there is an angel like Wupsy who is watching over all that I do, whispering things in my ear to help me, and being my connection to God while here in exile on earth is better for my peace of mind that any comfort food out there.  So, I will take this solemn assurance as what it is and know that the time will come that I hopefully will also be able to see this awe-inspiring sight.  Till then, I wait and dream of one day meeting my own guardian angel, be able to call her by name, and tell her a humble and heartfelt — THANK YOU!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

